housing department

Staff - Housing Department The Housing Department was established in December, 1964, and is overseen by an Advisory Board which is comprised of five Tribal members with staggered terms. The board members are appointed by the Walker River Paiute Tribal Council. The Tribal Council is comprised of seven Tribal members with staggered terms. That gives the Tribal Council some authority over the Housing Department yet the Housing Department remains autonomous for various legal reasons under the Housing Ordinance which has been amended at various times since the inception. The Housing Department staff numbers seven positions with various responsibilities.

The Walker River Housing Department is a corporation of the Walker River Paiute Tribe. The Housing Department provides services to members of the Walker River Paiute Tribe. The members of the Tribe are descendants of the people who have inhabited what is now called the Walker Lake Basin for thousands of years.

Homes are under one of two programs administered by the Housing Early Paiute DwellingDepartment. The programs are a modified lease purchase program called the mutual help program and a rental program for the lowest income members. In addition, the Housing Department operates programs to renovate existing homes, both under administration of the Housing Department and other homes owned and resided in by Tribal members on the reservation.

Since its beginning the Housing Department has built over 280 units for habitation. The Housing Department currently operates a program providing rental assistance to eligible low income Tribal members attending certain institutions of higher learning.

Please feel free to contact:
Michelle Glazier
Executive Director

Bonnie Hughes
Office Manager

Charles Quartz
Resident Services Coordinator

Wilfred Tuni
Development Coordinator

Alex Conway

Kevin Banks

Civil Court
Health Clinic
Safety of Dams
Human Resources
Economic Development
Pinenut Festival

open image
Home Page