Tribal government

The current form of government is under the Indian Reorganization Act of 1935 which was finally approved on March 26, 1937, after going to vote three times by the Tribal members who did not want to be governed under that Act. During the early years of Tribal government all Tribal business were conducted in our traditional language. As members became “educated” it was considered backward to speak Paiute in Tribal meetings.

The Tribe is governed by a seven-member Tribal Council. The term of each council member is three years and are staggered terms.

Tribal council members
Picture Coming Soon
Tribal Council for 2016
Bobby D. Sanchez – Tribal Chairman
Amber Torres – Vice-Chairperson
Gina Wachsmuth – Secretary
Marlene Begay – Treasurer
Standard Frank Jr. – Member
Genia Williams – Member
Sharon Williams – Member

The Tribal Council selects from the members of the Council, a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, a Secretary, and a Treasurer. The Chairman of the Tribe shall preside at all meetings of the Council, and shall at all times have general supervision of the affairs of the Tribal Council and such matters as naturally pertain to the general welfare of the community.

There are many committees, advisory boards and commissions that advise the Tribal Council in the program areas. The Tribe has all administrative policies in place including Personnel, Procurement, and Financial to name a few.

Civil Court
Health Clinic
Safety of Dams
Human Resources
Economic Development
Pinenut Festival

open image
Home Page